Quote this publication Share Print

Focus on patient safety - "French emergency medical aid service. What if everyone played their part."

Flash sécurité patient - Posted on Jan 21 2022

Context

The French emergency medical aid services (SAMU) are hospital services which manage both calls related to medical emergencies and also requests for non-programmed care.

The change in how the French emergency medical aid services have been used over the last ten years and their role in the healthcare pathway of patients render quality and safety initiatives essential, based on reflexive approaches, including reporting and analysis of serious adverse events.

The report on care-related serious adverse events (CRSAEs) reported by the French emergency medical aid services from March 2017 to 25 June 2019 demonstrates in particular non-observance of procedures and lack of allocation of tasks. ; this subject falls within a broader context of reinforcement of teamwork.


Objectives

By sharing this feedback from healthcare professionals confronted with theses serious adverse events, this focus on patient safety can be used to alert and raise awareness among the French emergency dispatch teams and their partners as to the occurrence of serious adverse events which could have been avoided by recalling the role of each individual.


So it doesn’t happen again

This focus on patient safety highlights failings in the individual roles of the stakeholders in call management, including the role of the patient and/or their family and communication.

A little like how an orchestra works, each link in the medical dispatch chain must know and play their own part so as not to induce errors caused by overstepping their role or not following set procedures. The patient and/or their family are stakeholders and have a role to play in the team to ensure the response is tailored to the patient’s situation.

An efficient medical dispatch team relies on team work and especially the distribution of roles between each person involved.

 

 

Contact Us

Service Évaluation et Outils pour la Qualité et la Sécurité des Soins (EvOQSS)

Citer cette publication Share Impression

Flash sécurité patient - "SAMU. Et si chacun jouait sa partition"

Flash sécurité patient - Mis en ligne le 21 janv. 2022

Contexte

Les services d’aide médicale urgente (SAMU) sont des services hospitaliers qui prennent en charge à la fois les appels relevant de l’aide médicale urgente et également les demandes de soins non programmés.

L’évolution du recours au SAMU au cours de la dernière décennie et de son rôle dans le parcours de soins des patients rendent les démarches qualité et de sécurité essentielles avec des approches réflexives dont la déclaration et l’analyse des événements indésirables graves.

L’état des lieux des événements indésirables graves associés à des soins (EIGS) déclarés concernant les SAMU-SMUR réalisé de mars 2017 au 25 juin 2019 met en évidence notamment le non-respect des procédures, et l’absence de définition des tâches. Ce sujet s’inscrit plus globalement dans un enjeu de renforcement du travail en équipe.


Objectif

En partageant ce retour d’expérience des professionnels confrontés à ces EIGS, ce flash permet d’alerter et de sensibiliser les équipes de régulation au SAMU et leurs partenaires de la survenue d’EIGS qui peuvent être évités en rappelant le rôle et la place de chacun.


Pour que cela ne se reproduise pas

Ce flash met en lumière une défaillance dans le rôle et la place des différents acteurs lors de la prise en charge d’un appel, y compris la place du patient et/ou de l’entourage et la communication.

À l’instar du fonctionnement d’un orchestre, chaque maillon d’un acte de régulation médicale se doit de connaitre et de jouer sa propre partition afin de ne pas induire d’erreurs consécutives au dépassement de son rôle ou au non-respect des procédures établies. Le patient et/ou son entourage sont parties prenantes et ont un rôle à jouer dans cette équipe afin que la réponse apportée soit adaptée à la situation du patient.

L’efficacité d’une équipe de régulation médicale, dépend du travail en équipe, et notamment de la répartition des rôles de chaque acteur.

Nous contacter

Service Évaluation et Outils pour la Qualité et la Sécurité des Soins (EvOQSS)